Prince Ferdinand, a Cavalry General in the Imperial Austrian Army, has a magnificent palace built on Braunbastei. The plans are created by the architect Karl Schleps, who is almost unknown in Vienna. After Schleps’ death, the building is constructed by the master builder Adolph Korompay.
The fact that the palace was built before the demolition of the fortifications on Braunbastei is the reason why large parts of the renaissance fortifications - particularly the casements of the former Braunbastei - have been preserved to an extent which is unique in Vienna.
The free-standing pillars of the median risalits of the neoclassical palace gave it the nickname “Asparagus Castle” in local vernacular.
of Johann Strauss’ works
and his wife Princess Clementine de Orleans (daughter of the French King) now moves into the completed palace in Vienna.
The state rooms are equipped with the insignia of the French monarchy and the Sachsen-Coburg dynasty for the couple. Parts of the palace are adapted and rented out as apartments.
1871 The single-storey exhibition building of the Gardening Society is erected in front of the palace.
1945-1955 The building is damaged at the end of the Second World War by artillery shells and bombs. Russian soldiers are housed in the palace after the war.
1955-1997 Two floors are rented to Austrian Federal Railways as offices.
Princess Sarah Aurelia,
sells the palace to a realtor, who makes it into the subject of speculation.
In 1992 it was bought by the Länderbank and the Zentralsparkasse, two Austrian banks.